Office Space – Ideas

Since I’m working with a corner and not even a room, I have to maximize on everything to use the little space I have wisely.

What I am really looking for is an old console table with a bit of character, preferably with a drawer, that I can refinish and lacquer in either white or a very pale tiffany blue. Then add some fun hardware like these from Anthropologie

Izar Knob - Anthropologie

Izar Knob - Anthropologie

Medaglione Knob - Anthropologie

Medaglione Knob - Anthropologie

Kells Filigree Handle

Kells Filigree Handle

I have been patrolling the local Salvation Army and Goodwill hoping that something salvageable will come up, but so far no luck…

Another alternative is the Parson’s Desk from West Elm. I’ve loved it from the first time I saw it – clean, sleek lines, and easy to use in any space really.

westelmparsons

Once I have a desk, I need to organize! Just something small for extra storage and to contain clutter. I’m thinking the Alex drawer unit from Ikea might do the trick.

alexikeaDrawing some inspiration from Mary McDonald’s lovely photo collage, here are some photos I found on the Conde Naste site.

It Can Be Done - by Irving Brown

It Can Be Done - by Irving Brown

This would be perfect for a workspace – and inspirational for those moments when I feel like “I can’t!”

And maybe just something beautiful, that makes me happier just for seeing it, like these lovely shots below.

Armida - 1930's Vaudeville performer from July 1930 Vanity Fair

Armida - 1930's Vaudeville performer from July 1930 Vanity Fair

Dancer Ida Rubenstein, March 1925

Dancer Ida Rubenstein, March 1925

I already have this office chaireiffeleamesThen it will be the fun part – creating a little office tablescape and adding a flash of colour!

monthlyjournalboxI love these cheery little journals from Pottery Barn – not sure I’d get through one every month though…

Book boxes from Pottery Barn

Book boxes from Pottery Barn

Storage boxes hide a multitude of sins… I love these from Pottery Barn.

And while I’m at it, why not some gorgeous new stationery like this from pistacio.

epistachio1epistachio12Any ideas or inspiring spaces you’d like to share? Let me know!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

